Your Place:Home >News center

Senegal million tons of iron ore demand China "mining"

  

  In the iron difficult and sensitive period of ore negotiations, Africa country-Senegal carries 3.5 billion tons reserves of iron ore to China for selling, perhaps China's steel enterprises will open another window fan. In the "Senegal - China Business Cooperation Day", the Senegalese president and more than a dozen senior officials carry a number of projects for seeking investment from private and state-owned companies in China, iron ore project is one of them.

  Mining iron ore in Senegal must first set up factories.

  According to a survey made by the East Senegal Iron Ore Company, West African countries-Senegal’s iron ore reserves up to 35 million tons, amounted 63% iron; its potential magnetite as much as 3.5 billion tons. Senegal and the world's largest steel group Arcelor Mittal Group, reached an agreement in 2007, a former’s mining be invested by the latter on a 700 million tons of iron ore reserves.

  "Our iron ore at present explored by Arcelor Mittal Group to set up factories in Senegal, but I need to note that the project is not a single iron ore project, it also includes a railway and power projects integrated within the project," said by the Secretary of State also the Minister of International Cooperation and air transport and infrastructure minister of Senegal Karim • Wade. The iron ore project cost 2.93 billion U.S. dollars, including mining infrastructure, a 150 MW power plants and modern equipment, the original 2011 production, the first two years of extraction can reach 120 million tons. "China Machinery Equipment Import & Export Corporation is a 50-megawatt power station Senegal construction projects, as well as one from the company, Henan, China also participated in the construction of iron ore."

  Karim • Wade introduced that the iron ore project also includes a 4.26 billion U.S. dollars investment in rail and port investment 1.62 billion U.S. dollars. Railways 311 km long, located between the mineral and the existing railway, and industrial areas and away from Diamniadio future Bargeny mine (Bargny) cross between the ports of only 6 km area. The Bargeny mining port 28 kilometers away from Dakar, Senegal, specifically design and construct for existing and future mining of large transport ship which can berth 170,000 tons of ships.

  According to reports, on the afternoon of April 13, Senegal and China Communications Construction Group subsidiary of China Harbour Engineering Construction Company Limited, China Railway Group Limited and China National Machinery and Equipment Import and Export Corporation signed a Bargeny respectively, port construction, mining, Dakar to Mali's capital Bamako railway reconstruction project, and housing construction agreement, the agreement to provide the city of Dakar and the surrounding areas for a the 50 MW turbine generators, the third of project which amounts 75 million U.S. dollars.

  Sino-steel Corporation Board of Directors Office of the Deputy Director of Ren Haiping said the company had yet to iron ore imports from Senegal, represented at the meeting on 13, only for knowing what the investment policy is. The Senegalese Minister of State, Minister of International Cooperation and air transport and infrastructure minister Karim • Wade, currently there is no China's iron ore mining company make direct investment in Senegal, "If Chinese companies are willing to carry out iron ore investment, but also hope to set up factories in Senegal, I hope Chinese entrepreneurs could understand the ideas of add some values of President Wade."

  Welcome Chinese investment

  For a long time, on the issue of region developing, Senegal actively advocated that establishing appropriate organization to coordinate the developing actions between related countries. According to reports, the last source of foreign investment in Senegal, more than 90% are from France, the proportion of investment in France has dropped to about 50%. "As China's growth, Senegal and China, increased trade, we can no longer ignore the power of China, so we are eager to win the support of China."  "As long as Chinese enterprises to invest in Senegal complying with the laws and customs, they would be welcome."

  The efficiency of China's impressed Karim • Wade: "In support of the African countries, China's action is most rapid, effective, such as Dakar, the transformation of transmission lines, we looked for companies in other countries, both of them require more than five years, with Chinese companies we contacted, quickly set up an assessment team two months ago we signed an agreement, and the project will end in next year."

  Meaningful for negotiations on iron ore

  Chinese Academy of Social Sciences Institute of World Economics and Politics Research Associate, International Investment Research, Dr. Lee Chung Min said: “Chinese enterprises invested amount in Senegal in 2005 was 2.35 million U.S. dollars; in 2006 was 4.15 million U.S. dollars; in 2007 was 4.39 million U.S. dollars; 2008 was 10.61 million U.S. dollars. "Chinese enterprises investing in Senegal grows soon and has great potential."

  Lee Chung Min said, at present the problems faced by investment in Africa is very difficult in many aspects, also the infrastructure and facilities are very backward, China's investment starts from infrastructure. "According to geographical and environmental advantages of the country the first thing we should do is to establish a bridgehead, and then gradually invest in the African continent, or through the bilateral relationship between Senegal and North America, South America and Europe, marches into the above markets."

  For Senegal iron ore project, the industry said that while Senegal iron ore reserves of about only Australia, Brazil, a major exporter of iron ore reserves of one-tenth, but for now at loggerheads in the iron ore talks still have a positive meaning, "at least some domestic steel enterprises to open a window."

集团要闻
项目新闻
房地产动态
矿业动态
招标信息
 您的位置:首页 > 新闻中心

塞内加尔亿吨铁矿石求华“开采”

  在铁矿石谈判举步维艰的敏感时期,非洲塞内加尔怀揣35亿吨储量铁矿来华叫卖,或许将为中国钢企打开另一扇窗口。在“塞内加尔-中国商务合作日”上,塞内加尔高官以及十几家公司总裁怀揣着多个项目寻求中国国有及私营公司的投资,铁矿石项目便是其中之一。

  开采塞铁矿须先设厂
  据东塞内加尔铁矿公司的调查,西非国家塞内加尔铁矿储量可达35亿吨,含铁量达63%;其潜在的磁铁矿也高达35亿吨。塞内加尔与世界最大的钢铁集团阿赛洛米塔尔集团在2007年达成协议,由后者投资开采前者一个储量为7亿吨的铁矿。
  “我们的铁矿石目前由阿赛洛米塔尔集团在塞内加尔设厂开采,但我需要说明的是,这个铁矿石项目并不是一个单一的项目,还包含了一条铁路和供电项目在内的综合性的项目。”塞内加尔国务大臣、国际合作部长兼航空运输和基础设施部长卡里姆·韦德说,该铁矿项目耗资29.3亿美元,包含矿业基础设施建设、一个150万千瓦的发电厂和现代化的设备,原定2011年投产,头两年的开采量可以达到1.2亿吨。“中国机械设备进出口公司正在塞内加尔进行一个50兆瓦电站的建设工程,还有一家来自中国河南的公司也参与了铁矿的建设。”
  卡里姆·韦德介绍,该铁矿项目还包含了一条投资42.6亿美元的铁路和投资16.2亿美元的港口。铁路长311公里,位于矿藏和现有的铁路之间,同时距离Diamniadio工业区和未来的巴格尼矿(Bargny)港口之间的交叉地带仅6公里。而巴格尼矿业港口距离塞内加尔首都达喀尔28公里,专门为现有的大型船舶以及未来的矿业运输设计建造,可以停泊17万吨的轮船。
  据介绍,4月13日下午,塞内加尔与中国交通建设集团下属的中国港湾工程建设有限公司、中国中铁股份有限公司和中国机械设备进出口公司分别签订了巴格尼矿业港口建设、达喀尔到马里首都巴马科的铁路改造工程和住房建设协议、为达喀尔市及周边地区提供50兆瓦涡轮发电机的协议,其中第三个项目金额达7500万美元。
  中国中钢股份有限公司董事会办公室副主任任海平表示,该公司尚未从塞内加尔进口过铁矿石,13日派代表与会只是希望了解一下投资的政策。而塞内加尔国务大臣、国际合作部长兼航空运输和基础设施部长卡里姆·韦德介绍,目前还没有中国公司对塞内加尔的铁矿石开采进行直接的投资,“如果中国企业愿意在铁矿石上进行投资,也希望能够在塞内加尔设厂,希望中国的企业家能够理解瓦德总统希望能增加一些附加值的想法。”
中国投资受欢迎
  一直以来,在区域开发上,塞内加尔积极主张建立相应的开发组织协调相关各国的行动。
据介绍,过去塞内加尔的海外投资来源,90%以上来自法国,目前法国的投资比例已降到50%左右。“随着中国国力的增长,塞内加尔和中国贸易的增强,我们再也不能忽视中国的力量,因此希望争取到中国的支持。”“中国企业去投资,只需要遵守塞内加尔的法律和风俗习惯,就会受到欢迎。”
  卡里姆·韦德对中国的办事效率印象深刻:“在对非洲国家的支持中,中国的动作最为迅速、有力,比如达喀尔输电线路的改造,我们去找过其他国家的公司,都说需要五年以上,我们跟中国公司接触,很快就成立了评估小组,两个月前我们才签了协议,该项目在明年结束。”
  对铁矿石谈判有积极意义
  中国社科院世界经济与政治研究所国际投资研究室副研究员李众敏博士表示,中国企业对塞内加尔的投资额度2005年是235万美元;2006年是415万美元;2007年是439万美元;2008年是1061万美元。“中国企业对塞内加尔的投资发展很快,潜力很大。”
  李众敏介绍,目前在非洲投资面临的问题是许多方面都很难配套,基础设施也非常落后,中国的投资可以从基础建设入手。“先在塞内加尔这样据有地理优势和环境优势的国家建立桥头堡,然后再逐步投资非洲大陆,或者借助塞内加尔与北美、南美和欧洲的双边关系,进入上述市场。”

  而对于塞内加尔铁矿石项目,业内人士表示,虽然塞内加尔铁矿石储量大约仅为澳大利亚、巴西等铁矿石出口大国储量的十分之一,但对于目前相持不下的铁矿石谈判仍具有一定积极意义,“至少给国内一些钢企打开了一扇窗口。”